Shergar Cup Teams

Each team has three riders, stellar international names. Every jockey is guaranteed five rides for their team. The teams are divided into: Europe, Great Britain & Ireland, The Girls & Rest of the World.


Tadhg O’Shea, Filip Minarik, Yuga Kawada and Hayley Turner have been confirmed as team captains for the 2019 Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup. 


Hayley Turner, the most successful female jockey in Britain ever, is back, and will be joined by Jamie Kah, who recently set a new record for the most wins by a female rider in an Australian season, and Women Jockeys' World Cup winner, Nanako Fujita.  


The Great Britain & Ireland team is made up of seven-time Champion Jockey in the UAE, Tadhg O'Shea, Danny Tudhope, who had a tremendous Royal Ascot 2019 and is current leader of the Stobart Champion Flat Jockey's Championship and multiple Group One winnning jockey Jamie Spencer. 


The Rest of the World team is captained by Japanese jockey Yuga Kawada - with over 1,200 winners to his name, he is one of only eight riders in JRA history to win all five Classic races in Japan. His fellow team-mate, Vincent Ho Chak-Yiu, was Hong Kong Champion Apprentice and finished fourth in last season's Jockey standings. Australian Mark Zahra also joins the team. 


Four-time Champion Jockey in Germany, Filip Minarik leads the European team and is joined by globe-trotting French jockey Gerald Mosse and twelve-time Dutch Champion Jockey, Adrie de Vries.